Mark RadarMARK RADAR
About
EN
Sign in

New York Advances Sweeping BNPL Rules

1 reports · First detected 2026-08-21 · Last active 2026-08-21

Buy now, pay later products have expanded as an alternative to credit cards, but they have not been governed by uniform standards on disclosures, fees, credit reporting and data use. New York Governor Kathy Hochul signed legislation on May 9, 2025, as part of the fiscal 2026 budget, directing the New York State Department of Financial Services to establish licensing and supervision for BNPL lenders. The framework reaches fintech platforms and banking entities involved in offering the loans.

DFS formally proposed new 3 NYCRR Part 423 on July 15, 2026, opening a public-comment period through Sept. 14. Lenders would have to provide an accessible interface showing outstanding balances, amounts due, remaining installments and other loan terms, while allowing customers to direct payments among loans and prepay without charge. The proposal sets an $8 safe harbor for penalty fees and generally limits failed-payment retries on the same method to two. The rules would take effect 180 days after a notice of adoption is published in the State Register.

All Coverage

1 original reports

The Backstory

The history behind this event
Oregon BNPL Proposal Shifts Compliance Burden to Payment Processors2026-08-21 · 1 reports · similarity 0.81

Buy now, pay later products have evolved from a checkout feature into a form of consumer credit, drawing closer scrutiny of every company involved in delivering them. If payment processors, platforms and merchant-service providers are treated as BNPL service providers, they may inherit licensing, disclosure, dispute-handling and data-governance duties even when they do not set loan terms. That would force payments firms to redesign underwriting controls, merchant oversight and checkout workflows.

The Oregon Division of Financial Regulation proposed a bulletin in June 2026 requiring nonbank BNPL lenders and certain service providers to obtain licenses through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System, with comments due July 17. Oregon requires a consumer-finance license for consumer loans of $50,000 or less lasting more than 60 days and caps the annual percentage rate at 36%. The Financial Technology Association opposed extending licensing to platforms, marketplaces, processors and merchant-service providers that merely facilitate another company’s BNPL product.

Fintech Council Urges Oregon to Rethink BNPL Payday-Law Licensing2026-08-11 · 1 reports · similarity 0.83

Buy now, pay later services allow consumers to split retail purchases into installments and generally differ from payday loans, which are commonly associated with high borrowing costs and short repayment periods. Oregon’s use of a payday-lending framework for BNPL licensing could affect provider costs and market access, making the dispute a test of how US states balance consumer safeguards with innovation in emerging credit products.

The American Fintech Council, or AFC, has urged Oregon to reconsider subjecting BNPL providers to licensing rules designed for payday lenders, arguing that the products should not be treated as equivalent. As of Aug. 11, 2026, the available report did not specify an effective date, monetary amount or formal response from Oregon officials. The central issue remains whether BNPL warrants a tailored oversight regime instead of regulation under existing payday-loan rules.

New York, Oregon Tighten BNPL Licensing Rules2026-08-08 · 1 reports · similarity 0.87

Buy now, pay later products typically split a retail purchase into four installments and often carry no interest, but missed payments can trigger fees and borrowers can stack loans across platforms. The six largest providers originated 277.3 million loans financing $33.8 billion of merchandise in 2022, according to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. After the CFPB said in May 2025 it would deprioritize enforcement of a Biden-era BNPL policy, states moved to fill the gap, raising the prospect of costly, fragmented licensing for lenders operating nationwide.

New York’s Department of Financial Services formally published BNPL rules on July 15, 2026, opening a 60-day comment period through September 14. The proposal requires licensing, provides an $8 safe harbor for penalty fees and would take effect 180 days after adoption. Oregon’s Division of Financial Regulation separately proposed requiring nonbank lenders and service providers to obtain licenses. Loans of $50,000 or less due within 60 days would fall under payday-lending rules, while longer-term products would require consumer-finance licenses. Oregon’s comment period closed July 17, as industry critics warned the guidance stretches decades-old statutes beyond their intended scope.

Oregon Moves to Require State Lending Licenses for BNPL Providers2026-07-30 · 1 reports · similarity 0.80

Buy now, pay later products let consumers split purchases into installments, often marketed as interest-free alternatives to credit cards. Oregon regulators view those arrangements as consumer lending even when providers describe them as nonrecourse or charge no interest, fees or other costs at checkout. The classification matters because it subjects nonbank BNPL companies and service providers to state licensing, supervision and consumer-protection rules.

The Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services’ Division of Financial Regulation proposed the guidance in June 2026, directing providers to apply through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System. Loans of $50,000 or less due within 60 days require a payday lending license, while longer terms require a consumer finance license. The agency accepted public comments through 5 p.m. on July 17, 2026, before finalizing the bulletin.

Proposed Illinois BNPL Law Draws Industry and Consumer Group Scrutiny2026-06-18 · 1 reports · similarity 0.83

Buy now, pay later services allow consumers to pay in installments but can increase debt risks because of inadequate disclosures and the accumulation of multiple loans. Illinois lawmakers have therefore introduced dedicated legislation. If signed by the governor, it would make Illinois the second U.S. state to enact legislation regulating the BNPL industry, potentially influencing the regulatory approach of other states.

The Illinois legislature recently passed the Buy Now, Pay Later Loan Consumer Protection Act, which is awaiting the governor's signature. The bill would require providers to register with state regulators, disclose loan terms and assess consumers' ability to repay. However, reports have not specified a signing deadline, effective date or fine amounts, and both consumer advocacy groups and industry organizations are seeking further amendments.

New York Opens Public Comment Period on Proposed BNPL Regulations2026-02-24 · 1 reports · similarity 0.93

Buy now, pay later (BNPL) services let consumers pay for individual goods or services in installments, but they are not necessarily subject to the same interest-rate, credit-reporting and privacy rules as traditional consumer loans. The New York State Department of Financial Services (DFS), acting under legislation included by Governor Kathy Hochul in the fiscal 2026 budget, has proposed a licensing and oversight regime under a new Part 423 of Title 3 of the New York Codes, Rules and Regulations.

DFS released the proposal on February 23, 2026, opening a 10-day pre-proposal comment period through March 5. A separate 60-day comment period will begin after formal publication in the State Register. The proposal would prohibit convenience fees, cap the safe harbor for late fees at $8, and require disclosure of loan terms, dispute resolution procedures and protection of personal data. The rules would take effect 180 days after adoption.

New York Leads Push for BNPL Rules as Federal Oversight Recedes2026-02-24 · 1 reports · similarity 0.93

Buy now, pay later, or BNPL, allows consumers to receive goods upfront and pay in installments, often through a four-payment, interest-free plan. But standards governing disclosures, refund disputes, credit reporting and fees remain inconsistent. On May 6, 2025, the U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau said it would not prioritize enforcement of related Regulation Z requirements. It then withdrew its 2024 interpretive rule on May 12, increasing the importance of state efforts to fill the regulatory vacuum.

The New York State Department of Financial Services on February 23, 2026, unveiled proposed 3 NYCRR Part 423, which would require BNPL providers to obtain licenses, assess borrowers’ ability to repay, disclose credit-reporting practices, and establish dispute-resolution and data-protection mechanisms. The safe-harbor cap for default fees would be $8, with repeat charges prohibited for a single incident. The proposal initially opened for a 10-day comment period, followed by a separate 60-day public-comment period after formal publication. It would take effect 180 days after adoption and publication.

Mark Radar|MARK RADAR

If you search news on Google, you can set Mark Radar as a preferred source—our coverage will show up more often in your results. Set as preferred source on Google →

All times are in Taipei time (GMT+8)